todo o material postado no blog pode ser encontrado na internet

Trevor Billmuss: The psych-folk singer who released one delightfully strange LP and then vanished


When discussing rarely heard rock artists, the “enigma” word has certainly been overused, but British singer-songwriter Trevor Billmuss is truly a mysterious figure. After an album of his tunes was released—and failed to sell—Billmuss vanished. The LP, Family Apology, is now quite obscure. It’s also a stellar example of orchestrated psych-folk, and is worthy of wider exposure.

In September 1970, Family Apology was issued by the UK label, Charisma Records. A single consisting of two songs from the LP also came out at the time. The album was produced by John Anthony (Roxy Music, Van der Graaf Generator, Queen). Anthony was an in-house producer at Charisma, a label that primarily released prog rock records.

Billmuss wrote the thirteen tracks that make up the Family Apology LP. The material is very British, with ornate orchestration and the occasional acoustic guitar. To my ears, he sounds like a cross between Donovan’s flowery acid folk, and the surreal, darkly whimsical work of acid casualty, Syd Barrett. Many of Billmuss’s compositions concern the universal themes of love and heartbreak, but he’ll throw in wonderfully head-scratching lines like, “the crisis of decision ‘bout your nephew’s circumcision was tragic relief” (“September”). The old timey arrangement and British humor heard on the cutting break-up song, “Whoops Amour!,” brings to mind the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, and I can totally imagine a young Robyn Hitchcock covering “The Fishing Song,” which includes the lyric, “flippy flappy fishy in the bathroom.” In album opener, “The Ground Song,” Billmuss sings about class, the desire to escape a family so dysfunctional that he’s “dying to do my famous little disappearing act,” and the randomness of existence. The surreal poetry of the first verse will later turn into a rousing refrain.

The ground is in my hand and my hand is in my elbow
And my elbow is in my arm and my arm is in my shoulder
And my shoulder is in my chest and my chest is in my carcass
And my carcass is on my legs which are standing on the ground

Neither Family Apology nor the 45 charted. It seems that a combination of factors contributed to Billmuss’s lack of success: Charisma was chiefly a prog rock label, and probably didn’t know what to do with Billmuss; as great as the LP is, the time for this sort of music had essentially passed.

Wrong place, wrong time.

Whatever his rationale for leaving it all behind—which might always be unclear to fans of his lone album—Billmuss did his “little disappearing act” and was gone.

Family Apology has yet to be reissued in any format. As the LP didn’t exactly set the world on fire, it’s now pretty rare, though copies turn up for sale now and then (try Discogs and eBay). A vinyl rip of the record is streaming below.

Here’s the track listing:

Side A:
1. The Ground Song
2. Reflections on Lady MacBeth
3. The Viennese Carousel
4. September
5. Sunday Afternoon in Belgrave Square
6. Hungarian Peasant Girl
7. Epitaph for Matthew

Side B:
1. Whoops Amour!
2. The Flaming Bossa Nova
3. Casual Friends
4. Pousette Et La Citrouille
5. The Fishing Song
6. Wise Eyes

Traduzir para ChinêsTraduzir para Espanholtraduzir para françêstraduzir para inglêstraduzir para alemãotraduzir para japonêsTraduzir para Russo

MikeLiveira's Space on Tumblr